AEP this week turned out to be quite  interesting, as my fellow classmates and I explored new techniques on writing an essay. But we first started off by taking a usual vocabulary quiz (unit 5).

We later were given a new essay topic to embark on; “Society advances most when people break from the traditions of their predecessors.” To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

We first started by breaking down the given statement as doing so would make it easier to comprehend. “Society advances most when people break from the traditions of their predecessors.” Instead we paraphrased it as “People move on in their lives when they don’t follow the rules/values/morals of their past generations.”

Second step was to decide whether  we will be agreeing or disagreeing with the given statement. This was the difficult part, as we knew that later we will be required to state some supporting details.

Third step was laying out a written draft with at least 3 points that will support your opinion.

Our discussion ended here for the first part of AEP for this week, and we were sent off assigned to write an essay draft about our topic.

The second part of AEP class began with us being assigned to write an essay in 40 minutes about “Society advances most when people break from the traditions of their predecessors.” To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? with the help of our made drafts.

We held onto our pen and began writing as time ticked by. This 40 minutes for me felt short for some reason, probably because I’m not used to writing essays often. Personally speaking, I’m not that fast at writing essays even after having a draft, as I find myself difficult to get those thoughts that pop one after another together. However, I’m glad the more I get to writing “essays” the more I will get used to it and this will eventually help me hold on to that speed and get quicker.

The 40 minutes soon came to an end, and we all had to submit our essays to Ms. We are currently waiting for our results.

Well my dear readers, thats all for today.

picture source: http://wallpapermad.com/writing-wallpaper-hd/

